Age Ayurveda Nighantu

Bhanga

Cannabis sativa L. / Cannabis indica Lam.

Bhanga (Cannabis sativa L. / Cannabis indica Lam.) is a plant used in Ayurveda. {'use': 'Analgesic and anti-spasmodic (Vedanasthapana, Shulahara)', 'validation': 'Multiple clinical trials and systematic reviews confirm cannabis/cannabinoids effective for chronic pain, neuropathic pain, and spasticity.

Key facts
Botanical nameCannabis sativa L. / Cannabis indica Lam.
FamilyCannabaceae
OrderRosales
Taxon identifiersGBIF 5361880 · Wikidata Q26726 · NCBI Taxonomy 3483

Names and identification

LanguageName
EnglishBhanga
Latin/BotanicalCannabis sativa L. / Cannabis indica Lam.

Which traditional uses are supported by research?

  • {‘use’: ‘Analgesic and anti-spasmodic (Vedanasthapana, Shulahara)’, ‘validation’: ‘Multiple clinical trials and systematic reviews confirm cannabis/cannabinoids effective for chronic pain, neuropathic pain, and spasticity. Sativex (THC:CBD 1:1 spray) approved in 30+ countries for MS spasticity. FDA approved dronabinol and nabilone for pain.’}
  • {‘use’: ‘Appetite stimulant and anti-emetic (Deepana, Chhardinashaka)’, ‘validation’: ‘Dronabinol (synthetic THC, Marinol) FDA-approved for anorexia in AIDS wasting and chemotherapy-induced nausea/vomiting. CB1 receptor activation in hypothalamus stimulates appetite through modulation of ghrelin and leptin signaling.’}
  • {‘use’: ‘Anticonvulsant (Apasmara)’, ‘validation’: ‘Epidiolex (pure CBD) FDA-approved for Dravet syndrome and Lennox-Gastaut syndrome. Multiple RCTs demonstrate significant seizure reduction. Validates traditional Ayurvedic use of Vijaya for Apasmara (epilepsy).’}

What do recent clinical trials show?

2 further claims previously listed here could not be traced to a published paper and have been removed. An absence here means we could not identify the source, not that no work exists.

Recent safety updates

  • {‘type’: ‘Poisoning case’, ‘detail’: ‘Rising incidence of synthetic cannabinoid-laced cannabis products in India causing severe toxicity including seizures, rhabdomyolysis, acute kidney injury, and deaths. Unlike natural cannabis, synthetic cannabinoids are full CB1 agonists with much higher toxicity.’}
  • {‘type’: ‘Poisoning case’, ‘detail’: ‘Pediatric edible cannabis intoxications increasing globally. Children present with lethargy, ataxia, respiratory depression, and coma after accidental ingestion of cannabis edibles. Duration of intoxication can be 12-24 hours.’}
  • {‘type’: ‘Antidote’, ‘detail’: ‘No specific antidote exists for cannabis intoxication. Treatment is supportive: benzodiazepines for severe anxiety/agitation, IV fluids for CHS-related dehydration. Rimonabant (CB1 antagonist) has been investigated but withdrawn due to psychiatric side effects.’}
  • {‘type’: ‘Maximum dose’, ‘detail’: ‘Ayurvedic dose of purified Bhanga (Shuddha Vijaya): 125-250 mg of leaf powder per day. Modern medicinal cannabis: THC 2.5-20 mg/day (titrated). FSSAI permits hemp seeds/oil with <0.3% THC as food ingredients.’}
  • {‘type’: ‘Safety alert’, ‘detail’: ‘FSSAI approved hemp seed, hemp seed oil, and hemp flour as legal food ingredients in India (2021) with THC limit of 0.3%. Multiple Indian states (Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh) have issued hemp cultivation policies distinguishing industrial hemp from narcotic cannabis.’}
  • {‘type’: ‘Regulatory update’, ‘detail’: ‘AYUSH Ministry exploring framework for Ayurvedic cannabis-based medicines (Vijaya extract) with standardized THC/CBD ratios. Several companies granted licenses for cannabis-based Ayurvedic formulations under state AYUSH departments.’}

What is it made of?

Key Active Markers

  • Derived from constituent herbs (see individual herb profiles)
  • Standardized on primary bioactive markers

Analytical Methods: HPLC fingerprinting, TLC (identity), LC-MS/MS (marker quantification)

Dosage forms and preparation

Dosage Forms: Churna (powder, purified), Modaka (sweetmeat preparation), Lepa (external paste), Taila (oil), Bhang Thandai (traditional beverage)

Standard Dosage: 125-250mg purified leaf powder (after Shodhana); 500mg-1g in Modaka form. REGULATORY NOTE: Cannabis sativa is a controlled substance in many jurisdictions. Only leaves and seeds are permitted in Ayurvedic use in India (NDPS Act exemption). Use requires applicable licenses.

Bioavailability: THC: oral bioavailability 6-20% due to extensive first-pass metabolism; lipid vehicles (ghee, oil) increase to 20-35%. CBD: oral bioavailability 13-19%. Decarboxylation required for THCA/CBDA conversion (110°C, 30-45 min). Traditional fat-based preparations (with milk, ghee) align with modern lipid-based delivery strategies. Nanoemulsion formulations can increase bioavailability 3-5 fold.

Optimal Timing: Traditionally administered in the evening or at bedtime with milk and sugar for sedative/analgesic effects; with food to reduce GI effects

Standardized Extract: Leaf extract standardized to total cannabinoid content with THC:CBD ratio specified per formulation intent. For Ayurvedic use: typically low-THC preparations. Seed oil: standardized to omega-6:omega-3 ratio (3:1).

Shelf Life: 1 year (powder); 2 years (oil, nitrogen-flushed); 6 months (fresh leaf preparations)

Storage: Airtight, light-protected containers. Temperature below 20°C. Nitrogen flushing for oil preparations. Secured storage per regulatory requirements. Protect from UV degradation of cannabinoids.

Marker Compounds: Delta-9-THC, CBD (Cannabidiol), CBN (Cannabinol), THCA, CBDA, Beta-caryophyllene, Myrcene, Alpha-pinene

Extraction Methods

  • Supercritical CO2 extraction for cannabinoid-rich fractions
  • Ethanol extraction (95%) for full-spectrum extracts
  • Cold-pressed seed oil extraction
  • Traditional Bhang preparation: grinding fresh leaves with water
  • Hydroalcoholic extraction for balanced cannabinoid-terpene profiles

Synergistic Combinations

Safety, contraindications and cautions

Compiled from published regulatory and institutional sources, listed against each statement. This is a reference summary, not advice about your own use. Ayurvedic preparations are dispensed by qualified practitioners, and anyone taking prescribed medication should raise an interaction with the prescriber rather than act on a page.

Pregnancy and breastfeeding
PregnancyAvoid — FDA states: 'FDA strongly advises against the use of cannabidiol (CBD), tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), and marijuana in any form during pregnancy or while breastfeeding.' FDA cites the Surgeon General: 'The U.S. Surgeon General recently advised consumers that marijuana use during pregnancy may affect fetal brain development, because THC can enter the fetal brain from the mother's bloodstream.' FDA reports that 'marijuana may increase the risk of a newborn with low birth weight. Research also suggests increased risk for premature birth and potentially stillbirth.' FDA further states that 'High doses of CBD in pregnant test animals have caused problems with the reproductive system of developing male fetuses': this is an animal finding, FDA gives no species, no per-kg dose and no human-equivalent dose for it, so it cannot be read as a human dose or a human threshold, and no animal dose is carried into the dose field of this record. FDA also states: 'We also know that there is a potential for CBD products to be contaminated with substances that may pose a risk to the fetus or breastfed baby, including THC.' FDA states the limitation that 'There is no comprehensive research studying the effects of CBD on the developing fetus, pregnant mother, or breastfed baby.', so absence of documented harm is not evidence of safety. NCCIH states separately: 'Smoking cannabis during pregnancy has been linked to lower birth weight.' Preparation-specific note, kept separate from the class-level basis above: the only clinical study of a Bhanga preparation excluded pregnant women, so it provides no pregnancy safety data, and the Sodhana review lists 'abortifacient' among the classical attributions for Cannabis sativa leaves, an attribution the review reports without any supporting chemical, animal or clinical data.What You Should Know About Using Cannabis, Including CBD, When Pregnant or Breastfeeding, FDA Consumer UpdateCannabis (Marijuana) and Cannabinoids: What You Need To Know, NCCIHTavhare SD, Acharya R, Reddy RG, Dhiman KS. Management of chronic pain with Jalaprakshalana (water-wash) Shodhita (processed) Bhanga (Cannabis sativa L.) in cancer patients with deprived quality of life: An open-label single arm clinical trial. Ayu. 2019 Jan-Mar;40(1):34-43. PMCID PMC6891996, PMID 31831967, doi:10.4103/ayu.AYU_43_19Maurya SK, Seth A, Laloo D, et al. Sodhana: An Ayurvedic process for detoxification and modification of therapeutic activities of poisonous medicinal plants. Anc Sci Life. 2015 Apr-Jun;34(4):188-197. PMCID PMC4535066, doi:10.4103/0257-7941.160862
BreastfeedingAvoid — LactMed states that THC 'is excreted into breastmilk in small quantities' and that 'The duration of detection of THC in milk has ranged from 6 days to greater than 6 weeks in various studies'; FDA's figure is that 'breastmilk can contain THC for up to six days after use', and FDA adds that 'This THC may affect a newborn's brain development and result in hyperactivity, poor cognitive function, and other long-term consequences.' LactMed: 'A 1-year study found that daily or near daily use might retard the breastfed infant's motor development, but not growth or intellectual development.' LactMed's balancing finding is carried with both of its own caveats: 'This and other studies found that occasional maternal cannabis use during breastfeeding did not have any discernable effects on breastfed infants, but the studies were inadequate to rule out all long-term harm and were conducted at a time when cannabis had relatively low potency.' LactMed also reports the Australia and New Zealand registry suggestion of increased autism spectrum disorder risk from postnatal use, with male infants affected more than female, and its caveat that 'no information on the breastfeeding status of the mothers was presented'; the sIgA and milk-lipid findings and LactMed's judgement that 'The clinical relevance of these changes is questionable'; and 'Cannabis can affect serum prolactin variably and it might decrease milk supply and the duration of lactation.' On hormones, LactMed's finding is limited both in exposure and in population: 'Acute one-time marijuana smoking suppresses serum concentrations of luteinizing hormone and prolactin in nonpregnant, nonlactating women.' That is a single-occasion result obtained in nonpregnant, nonlactating women; it is not a repeated-use result and not a result in lactating women, and LactMed adds that 'The effects of long-term use is unclear, with some studies finding no effect on serum prolactin', that 'hyperprolactinemia has been reported in some chronic cannabis users', and that 'The prolactin level in a mother with established lactation may not affect her ability to breastfeed.' LactMed records that 'In general, professional guidelines recommend that cannabis use should be avoided by nursing mothers, and nursing mothers should be informed of possible adverse effects on infant development from exposure to cannabis compounds in breastmilk.' LactMed lists three further considerations that are carried rather than dropped: 'the possibility of positive urine tests in breastfed infants, which might have legal implications, and the possibility of other harmful contaminants in street drugs'; 'paternal cannabis use may also increase the risk of sudden infant death syndrome in breastfed infants'; and 'Cannabis should not be smoked by anyone in the vicinity of infants because the infants may be exposed by inhaling the smoke.' Almost all of LactMed's human data concern smoked cannabis, so the milk concentration figures it reports are not transferable to an oral leaf powder; LactMed does note that among 20 mothers studied, 'Three patients using edible products had similar cannabinoid levels as those who smoked cannabis'. Preparation-specific note, kept separate from the class-level basis above: the only clinical study of a Bhanga preparation excluded breastfeeding women and provides no lactation data.Cannabis, Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed), NCBI Bookshelf NBK501587, record updated 2026 Aug 15What You Should Know About Using Cannabis, Including CBD, When Pregnant or Breastfeeding, FDA Consumer UpdateTavhare SD, Acharya R, Reddy RG, Dhiman KS. Management of chronic pain with Jalaprakshalana (water-wash) Shodhita (processed) Bhanga (Cannabis sativa L.) in cancer patients with deprived quality of life: An open-label single arm clinical trial. Ayu. 2019 Jan-Mar;40(1):34-43. PMCID PMC6891996, PMID 31831967, doi:10.4103/ayu.AYU_43_19

Contraindications

Interactions with medicines

  • Major Warfarin and other anticoagulants — MSK: 'Warfarin: THC and CBD both elevate international normalized ratio (INR) levels'. MSK's patient-facing warning places it on a do-not-take footing: do not take cannabis products if 'You're taking warfarin (Jantoven or Coumadin) or other blood thinners. Cannabis can increase your risk of bleeding.' Severity basis, stated here so the grading can be checked: every interaction that MSK itself places in its patient-facing 'Don't take cannabis products if' list is graded major in this record.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Major Sedatives and hypnotics, including lorazepam, diazepam and zolpidem — MSK: 'Sedatives or hypnotics: Sedation and significant pharmacodynamic interactions when taken with cannabis via potentiation of central effects'. MSK's patient-facing do-not-take list names lorazepam (Ativan), diazepam (Valium) and zolpidem (Ambien): 'Taking these medications and cannabis can increase drowsiness.' Severity basis: MSK's do-not-take list.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Major Nivolumab and related immune checkpoint inhibitors — MSK: 'Immunotherapy (nivolumab): Combined use with cannabis was associated with a reduction in treatment response rates in patients with advanced melanoma, non-small-cell lung cancer, and renal clear cell carcinoma (observational study)'. MSK reports elsewhere on the same page that in that study 'Progression-free survival and overall survival remained unaffected', which is carried here so the finding is not overstated. MSK's patient-facing do-not-take list: 'You're taking nivolumab (Opdivo). Cannabis can lower the response to this medication in patients with advanced melanoma, non-small-cell lung cancer, and renal clear cell carcinoma.' The named cancers describe the populations studied; no therapeutic role for cannabis in any of them is stated or implied by this record. Severity basis: MSK's do-not-take list.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Major Fluoxetine — MSK: 'Fluoxetine: Case reports of mania resulting from co-administration of cannabis'. MSK's patient-facing do-not-take list pairs fluoxetine with disulfiram: 'You're taking fluoxetine (Prozac) or disulfiram (Antabuse). Taking cannabis with these medications can cause confusion, elevated mood, inflated self-esteem, decreased need for sleep, racing thoughts, and trouble focusing.' MSK separately documents, in its Adverse Reactions section, 'Serotonin syndrome: In a male, with a diagnosis of bipolar disorder managed with fluoxetine, melatonin, and lithium, following use of THC vape pen'; that case involved three concurrent psychotropic drugs and a THC vape pen, so cannabis is one of several exposures and the route was inhalation. Severity basis: MSK's do-not-take list, reinforced by that serotonin syndrome case.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Major Disulfiram — MSK: 'Disulfiram: Delirium and hypomania resulting from co-administration with cannabis'. MSK's patient-facing do-not-take list: 'You're taking fluoxetine (Prozac) or disulfiram (Antabuse). Taking cannabis with these medications can cause confusion, elevated mood, inflated self-esteem, decreased need for sleep, racing thoughts, and trouble focusing.' Severity basis: MSK's do-not-take list.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Major Clobazam, particularly in children with epilepsy — MSK: 'Clobazam: CBD increased clobazam levels in epileptic children'. MSK's patient-facing do-not-take instruction: 'Don't give cannabis products to children with epilepsy who are on clobazam (Onfi). Cannabis can increase its side effects'. Severity basis: MSK's do-not-take instruction. MSK attributes the level rise to CBD.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Major Amphetamines, cocaine, atropine and other sympathomimetic agents — MSK: 'Amphetamines, cocaine, atropine and sympathomimetic agents: Cardiotoxicity may occur with cannabis via additive hypertension and tachycardia'. MSK's patient-facing do-not-take list names them individually and adds pseudoephedrine, epinephrine and dobutamine: 'You're on amphetamines (Adzenys XR-ODT, Evekeo ODT). Heart damage may occur with cannabis'; 'You're taking atropine (Atropen). Taking this medication and cannabis can cause heart damage.'; 'You're on cocaine. Heart damage may occur with cannabis'; 'You're taking pseudoephedrine (such as Sudafed), epinephrine (such as Auvi-Q) or the prescription drug dobutamine (Dobutamine). Taking these medications and cannabis can cause heart damage.' Severity basis: MSK's do-not-take list.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Major Cyclosporine and mycophenolate mofetil in transplant recipients — MSK: 'Cyclosporine and mycophenolate mofetil: In a patient with end-stage kidney disease with a kidney transplantation, after adding CBD for pain. A drop in the levels of cyclosporine and mycophenolate mofetil levels was observed, thought to be via induction of CYP 3A4 and inhibition of hepatic esterase'. MSK adds: 'CBD was later discontinued.' Severity basis, and the reason this departs from the do-not-take rule used above: MSK does not list this in its patient-facing do-not-take list, but a fall in transplant immunosuppressant levels carries graft-rejection risk, so it is graded major on the clinical consequence. The limitations are that this is a single patient, that MSK attributes the exposure to CBD rather than to whole cannabis, that the mechanism is given as a supposition ('thought to be'), and that MSK reports no clinical outcome for the graft.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Moderate Buprenorphine — MSK: 'Buprenorphine: A retrospective study found that cannabis use decreased the formation of norbuprenorphine and elevated buprenorphine and norbuprenorphine levels in liver healthy individuals on opioid maintenance therapy substituted with buprenorphine. This interaction may lead to increased or altered opioid activity and risk of intoxication'. Severity basis: not in MSK's do-not-take list; a retrospective pharmacokinetic finding in liver-healthy individuals, with the clinical consequence stated by MSK as a possibility ('may lead to').Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Moderate Citalopram and escitalopram — MSK: 'Citalopram/Escitalopram: CBD significantly elevated citalopram plasma concentrations in patients taking citalopram or escitalopram. But it is unclear whether this also increased SSRI-mediated adverse effects'. Severity basis: not in MSK's do-not-take list, and MSK itself states the clinical consequence is unclear.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Moderate Oxazepam and other UGT-glucuronidated drugs — MSK: 'Oxazepam: A study done in human microsomes found a strong inhibitory effect of major cannabinoids on the UGT-mediated glucuronidation of R,S-oxazepam metabolism'. MSK adds: 'Clinical relevance has yet to be determined.' Severity basis: not in MSK's do-not-take list; a human-microsome in vitro finding with clinical relevance undetermined by MSK's own statement, so no clinical magnitude is asserted here. It is carried rather than dropped because oxazepam is also a sedative, and MSK grades sedatives and hypnotics as do-not-take on a separate pharmacodynamic basis.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Moderate P-glycoprotein substrates — MSK: 'P-glycoprotein substrates: CBD inhibits P-glycoprotein and may influence metabolism of certain drugs'. MSK adds: 'Clinical relevance is not known.' Severity basis: not in MSK's do-not-take list, and MSK states the clinical relevance is not known; no magnitude is asserted here, and MSK names no specific substrate drug.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Moderate CYP2C19 and CYP2C9 substrates — MSK: 'Cytochrome P450 substrates: In vitro, CBD strongly inhibits CYP2C19 and CYP2C9. Clinical relevance is not known.' This is an in vitro finding for CBD; MSK states the clinical magnitude is not established, and this record does not assert one. Severity basis: not in MSK's do-not-take list; in vitro only.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Moderate CYP1A2 substrates — MSK: 'Cytochrome P450 substrates: Smoking cannabis induces CYP1A2, with additive effects when smoked together with tobacco, and can affect the intracellular concentration of drugs metabolized by this enzyme'. MSK attributes this induction to smoking; it does not report it for oral cannabis, and this record does not extend it to the oral route by which Bhanga is taken. Severity basis: not in MSK's do-not-take list, and route-limited by MSK's own wording.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs

Reported adverse effects

  • Adverse events reported in the only clinical study of the Bhanga preparation (1 of 37 enrolled patients (one reported burning sensation and was dropped from the trial); the article otherwise states no adverse drug reactions were noted among the 24 completers over 4 weeks) — The trial's own reporting is internally inconsistent and both parts are carried. Its adverse-reaction section states: 'No ADR were noted during the trial period. No withdrawal symptoms were noted after completion of trial.' The same paragraph then states: 'Patients (n=1) who reported burning sensation after TD administration were dropped out from trial.' The abstract's conclusion is that the preparation at that dose 'does not cause any major adverse effect and withdrawal symptoms during trial period'. Its earlier account of the dropouts gives different reasons and does not mention the burning sensation: 'Total 37 (100%) patients were enrolled in trial out of which 24 (64.86%) have completed treatment while 13 (35.14%) patients dropped out due to reasons such as conventional therapy settings and inconvenience in long distance travelling to reach trial center.' What this can and cannot support: an absence of recorded adverse drug reactions in 24 people who completed 4 weeks of an open-label, uncontrolled, single-centre trial is a very small negative. It cannot exclude uncommon harms, harms beyond 4 weeks, harms in the excluded groups, or harms in the 13 patients who did not complete. Pre- and post-treatment blood, urine, biochemistry and ECG investigations are described in the methods as done 'to check the safety aspects after 1 month of administration of trial drug', but no laboratory or ECG result is reported anywhere in the article, so this record cannot report that organ-function testing was normal.Tavhare SD, Acharya R, Reddy RG, Dhiman KS. Management of chronic pain with Jalaprakshalana (water-wash) Shodhita (processed) Bhanga (Cannabis sativa L.) in cancer patients with deprived quality of life: An open-label single arm clinical trial. Ayu. 2019 Jan-Mar;40(1):34-43. PMCID PMC6891996, PMID 31831967, doi:10.4103/ayu.AYU_43_19
  • Short-term effects (No frequency, incidence or denominator is stated by MSK for any item in either list) — MSK's professional Adverse Reactions section: 'Short-term adverse effects following use of medical cannabinoids include dizziness, dry mouth, nausea, fatigue, somnolence, euphoria, vomiting, disorientation, drowsiness, confusion, loss of balance, and hallucination'. MSK's separate patient-facing section, 'What are the side effects?', gives an overlapping but not identical list: 'Drowsiness ... Restlessness ... Anxiety (strong feelings of worry or fear); Paranoia (intense thoughts or feelings that someone might try to harm you); Hallucinations ... Feeling hungry; Short-term memory loss; Euphoria ...; Trouble focusing; Changes in your blood pressure; Faster heart rate; Confusion; Nausea ...; Vomiting ...; Flushing ...; Depression ...; Insomnia'. Setting the two lists side by side: drowsiness, hallucinations, euphoria, confusion, nausea and vomiting appear in both; restlessness, anxiety, paranoia, feeling hungry, short-term memory loss, trouble focusing, changes in blood pressure, faster heart rate, flushing, depression and insomnia appear only in the patient-facing list; dizziness, dry mouth, fatigue, somnolence, disorientation and loss of balance appear only in the professional list. MSK does not label the patient-facing list as acute-use effects, and this record does not characterise it as one; MSK's heading is simply 'Side effects of taking cannabis products may include'. Anxiety also appears separately in MSK's withdrawal syndrome entry below.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Addiction and cannabis use disorder (NCCIH: adolescents are four to seven times more likely than adults to develop cannabis use disorder; no absolute incidence is given by either source, and MSK lists 'Risk of addiction' with no frequency) — NCCIH: 'Some people who use cannabis develop cannabis use disorder, which has symptoms such as craving, withdrawal, lack of control, and negative effects on personal and professional responsibilities. Adolescents using cannabis are four to seven times more likely than adults to develop cannabis use disorder.' MSK's Adverse Reactions list includes 'Risk of addiction'. MSK's clinical summary adds that non-medical use is associated with 'high risk of addiction, especially when used from an early age' and with 'dependence'. The Bhanga trial reported no withdrawal symptoms after 4 weeks in 24 completers; that is a 4-week observation in a small uncontrolled sample and is not evidence that the preparation does not cause dependence with longer use.Cannabis (Marijuana) and Cannabinoids: What You Need To Know, NCCIHCannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About HerbsTavhare SD, Acharya R, Reddy RG, Dhiman KS. Management of chronic pain with Jalaprakshalana (water-wash) Shodhita (processed) Bhanga (Cannabis sativa L.) in cancer patients with deprived quality of life: An open-label single arm clinical trial. Ayu. 2019 Jan-Mar;40(1):34-43. PMCID PMC6891996, PMID 31831967, doi:10.4103/ayu.AYU_43_19
  • Withdrawal syndrome and psychotic episodes upon cessation (No frequency stated by the source) — MSK: 'Withdrawal syndrome (irritability, sleeping difficulties, dysphoria, craving, and anxiety) and psychotic episodes upon cessation.' MSK attributes the psychotic episodes to cessation, not to ongoing use. MSK's clinical summary adds that withdrawal 'makes cessation tough, eventually leading to relapse'.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Serotonin syndrome (One case, reported by MSK) — MSK: 'Serotonin syndrome: In a male, with a diagnosis of bipolar disorder managed with fluoxetine, melatonin, and lithium, following use of THC vape pen'. Limitations carried with it: a single case, in a patient on three concurrent psychotropic drugs, with the cannabis exposure by THC vape pen rather than by ingestion. MSK gives no age, no dose and no outcome.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Catatonia requiring electroconvulsive therapy (No frequency stated by the source; MSK cites three references for this item) — MSK: 'Catatonia: Associated with cannabis use necessitating electroconvulsive therapy (ECT)'.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Acute toxic hippocampal encephalopathy (One case, reported by MSK) — MSK: 'Acute toxic hippocampal encephalopathy: In a male, associated with cannabis use'. MSK gives no age, no dose, no route and no outcome, and states the relationship as an association in one case.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Cardiac and cerebrovascular events: myocardial infarction, sudden cardiac death, cardiomyopathy, stroke, transient ischemic attack, cannabis arteritis, life-threatening dysrhythmia, acute coronary syndrome and chronic cardiovascular disease (MSK describes the dysrhythmia as 'rare, but life-threatening'; no incidence figure is given for any item) — MSK states two things separately. Route-attributed: 'Inhalation is associated with myocardial infarction, sudden cardiac death, cardiomyopathy, stroke, transient ischemic attack, and cannabis arteritis'. Not route-attributed: 'Cannabis use has been associated with increased risk of rare, but life-threatening cardiac dysrhythmia ... as well as both acute coronary syndrome and chronic cardiovascular disease'. MSK reports no comparison of routes and no finding that oral use is free of the inhalation-associated events, so the inhalation attribution is recorded as the source's wording and is not used to narrow the cardiac warning. The Bhanga preparation is given orally in capsules, and the cardiac contraindication above applies to that route.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About HerbsTavhare SD, Acharya R, Reddy RG, Dhiman KS. Management of chronic pain with Jalaprakshalana (water-wash) Shodhita (processed) Bhanga (Cannabis sativa L.) in cancer patients with deprived quality of life: An open-label single arm clinical trial. Ayu. 2019 Jan-Mar;40(1):34-43. PMCID PMC6891996, PMID 31831967, doi:10.4103/ayu.AYU_43_19
  • Non-ischaemic cardiomyopathy with cardioembolism, radial artery thrombosis and gangrene requiring amputation (One case, reported by MSK) — MSK, quoted in full: 'Non-ischaemic cardiomyopathy and cardioembolism: In a recreational cannabis + tobacco smoker. He also developed gangrene in his left forearm as a result of left radial artery thrombosis. The patient was managed in the line of decompensated heart failure, with the right-hand gangrene requiring amputation'. Two limitations are carried. The patient was a cannabis and tobacco smoker, so the exposure is confounded by tobacco and the route was inhalation. MSK's own text is internally inconsistent about which limb was affected, naming the left forearm and left radial artery and then the right hand as the site requiring amputation; the wording is reproduced as written and is not reconciled here.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Cannabis hyperemesis syndrome, and recurrent severe vomiting (MSK: cyclic attacks of nausea and vomiting in chronic cannabinoid users, attributed to two deaths) — MSK: 'Cannabis hyperemesis syndrome (CHS), characterized by cyclic attacks of nausea and vomiting in chronic cannabinoid users, has been attributed to two deaths. In another case series, four patients were reported to experience relief from CHS following administration of benzodiazepines.' The second sentence is MSK's own follow-on and is carried so the entry is not truncated; it concerns management of the syndrome and is not an efficacy statement about cannabis. NCCIH does not name the syndrome; it states separately: 'Some long-term users of high doses of cannabis have developed a condition involving recurrent severe vomiting.' NCCIH does not define high dose or long-term.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About HerbsCannabis (Marijuana) and Cannabinoids: What You Need To Know, NCCIH
  • Chronic bronchitis in regular users, and pneumothorax (No frequency stated by the source; MSK's bronchitis item is a comparison of regular users with non-users) — MSK: 'Chronic bronchitis in regular users of cannabis products compared to non-users'; 'Pneumothorax: Associated with cannabis use'. MSK does not state a route for either item. Both are respiratory events that in practice attach to smoked use, but MSK does not say so and this record does not add a route attribution the source does not make.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Memory effects and effects on the developing brain (No frequency stated by the source) — MSK's patient-facing side-effect list includes 'Short-term memory loss', MSK states 'Cannabis use was also reported to elevate the risk of creating false memories', and 'Long-term cannabis use was shown to be detrimental to functional connectivity in the developing brain'. MSK's statements about cognitive impairment, psychosis and suicidal ideation belong to SYNTHETIC cannabinoid drugs, which MSK says 'cause more serious adverse effects compared to natural cannabis'; those must not be carried to Cannabis sativa herb, and are not carried here.Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs
  • Orthostatic hypotension with risk of fainting and falls (No frequency stated by the source) — NCCIH: 'Marijuana may cause orthostatic hypotension (head rush or dizziness on standing up), possibly raising danger from fainting and falls.'Cannabis (Marijuana) and Cannabinoids: What You Need To Know, NCCIH
  • CBD-specific effects: decreased alertness, mood changes, decreased appetite, diarrhoea, liver injury, extreme sleepiness and male reproductive harm (No frequency stated by either source; NCCIH states the liver-function and related effects 'were observed in some of the people who participated in studies of Epidiolex before its approval as a drug') — NCCIH: 'CBD may have side effects, including decreases in alertness, changes in mood, decreased appetite, and gastrointestinal symptoms such as diarrhea. CBD may also produce psychotic effects or cognitive impairment in people who also regularly use THC. In addition, CBD use has been associated with liver injury, male reproductive harm, and interactions with other drugs.' NCCIH adds that 'Some side effects, such as diarrhea, sleepiness, abnormalities on tests of liver function, and drug interactions, appear to be due to CBD itself rather than contaminants in CBD products; these effects were observed in some of the people who participated in studies of Epidiolex before its approval as a drug'. FDA lists, 'Based on clinical studies in humans', risks that 'can include the following: liver toxicity (damage), extreme sleepiness, harmful interactions with other drugs'. These are findings about CBD; no cited source reports the cannabidiol content of the Bhanga preparation, and this record does not estimate one.Cannabis (Marijuana) and Cannabinoids: What You Need To Know, NCCIHWhat You Should Know About Using Cannabis, Including CBD, When Pregnant or Breastfeeding, FDA Consumer Update
  • Product contamination and label inaccuracy (No frequency or proportion of products is stated by either source) — NCCIH: 'There have been reports of contamination of cannabis/cannabinoid products with microorganisms, pesticides, or other substances.' NCCIH separately: 'Some cannabis/cannabinoid products contain amounts of cannabinoids that differ substantially from what's stated on their labels.' NCCIH on CBD specifically: 'over-the-counter CBD products may contain more or less CBD than stated on their labels, and because of less rigorous regulatory oversight than prescription drugs, they may also contain contaminants, such as THC.' FDA: 'We have also heard reports of CBD potentially containing other contaminants (e.g., pesticides, heavy metals, bacteria, and fungus); we are investigating this.' FDA's wording is that it has heard reports and is investigating, not that contamination has been confirmed at any rate. No cited source reports an elemental or microbiological analysis of the Bhanga preparation, and none is claimed here. LactMed adds, for street sources, 'the possibility of other harmful contaminants in street drugs'.Cannabis (Marijuana) and Cannabinoids: What You Need To Know, NCCIHWhat You Should Know About Using Cannabis, Including CBD, When Pregnant or Breastfeeding, FDA Consumer UpdateCannabis, Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed), NCBI Bookshelf NBK501587, record updated 2026 Aug 15
  • Serious lung injury linked to THC-containing vaping products (NCCIH: 'many of the reported cases'; no number is given) — NCCIH: 'The FDA has warned the public not to use vaping products that contain THC. Products of this type have been implicated in many of the reported cases of serious lung injuries linked to vaping.' Carried for completeness because it appears in the safety list this record draws from, and marked route-specific: it concerns vaping products, not an ingested leaf powder, and is not evidence about oral Bhanga.Cannabis (Marijuana) and Cannabinoids: What You Need To Know, NCCIH
  • Effects in the breastfed infant (One matched cohort of 68 exposed and 68 control infants, plus individual case reports; no incidence rate is given) — These are separate bodies of evidence, not one study. Cohort: 68 infants whose mothers reported smoking marijuana during breastfeeding were compared with 68 matched control infants; the duration of breastfeeding varied, but the majority were breastfed for 3 months and received less than 16 fluid ounces of formula daily. LactMed's finding in full: 'Motor development of the marijuana-exposed infants was slightly reduced in a dose-dependent (i.e., number of reported joints per week) manner at 1 year of age, especially among those who reported smoking marijuana on more than 15 days per month during the first month of lactation. No effect was found on mental development.' The dose metric is reported joints per week and the heavier-use subgroup is defined by the first month of lactation. A smaller earlier study is carried alongside it so the cohort is not presented alone: of 27 mothers who reported smoking marijuana during breastfeeding, six of their infants were compared at 1 year with infants of mothers who did not smoke during pregnancy or breastfeeding, and 'No differences were found in growth, or on mental and motor development.' Case reports: 'A 6-month-old infant was exclusively breastfed by a mother who was a chronic cannabis user. She presented to the emergency department with somnolence after falling off a couch and developing seizure-like activity and minimally responsive dilated pupils. Laboratory values and a head CT scan were normal except for carboxy-THC found in urine and blood. The infant returned to baseline in 72 hours.' A 9-month-old girl was hospitalised for a first tonic-clonic seizure with THC and metabolites in her blood, her mother having smoked about 5 cannabis resin joints daily since the child was 4 months old, sometimes just before breastfeeding; LactMed's own caveat is carried: 'The infant's symptoms were probably caused by cannabis, but direct exposure to cannabis smoke and diazepam and tobacco use could have contributed.' Route-matched to an ingested preparation: 'The infant of a woman who used cannabis edibles for anxiety during pregnancy and during breastfeeding had several episodes of apnea. At 1 week of age while undergoing treatment for a urinary tract infection, the infant required intubation because of apneic episodes. At 5 weeks of age, the mother noticed the infant was having irregular breathing and apneic episodes and took the infant to the hospital. There the infant was having more apneic episodes and had urine positive for THC, although the mother reported not using cannabis for the prior 3 days.' That infant was also exposed in utero and was being treated for infection, so the exposure is not isolated.Cannabis, Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed), NCBI Bookshelf NBK501587, record updated 2026 Aug 15
  • Possible increased risk of autism spectrum disorder after postnatal cannabis use (A large registry study in Australia and New Zealand; LactMed gives no sample size and no effect size) — LactMed, with its caveat attached in the same breath: 'A large registry study in Australia and New Zealand suggested that postnatal use of cannabis may increase the risk of autism spectrum disorder, with male infants affected to a greater extent than female infants. However, no information on the breastfeeding status of the mothers was presented.' Because breastfeeding status was not reported, this study does not establish that the exposure route was breastmilk. It is carried, with that caveat, rather than dropped.Cannabis, Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed), NCBI Bookshelf NBK501587, record updated 2026 Aug 15
  • Changes in breastmilk composition and milk supply (One preliminary study of secretory IgA in 14 women, two studies of milk lipid content, and survey data on breastfeeding duration) — LactMed's summary: 'One preliminary study found a decrease in secretory IgA (sIgA) levels in the milk of cannabis users. Two studies found decreases in the lipid content of milk, but they had opposite findings on the effects on protein and carbohydrate content. The clinical relevance of these changes is questionable.' That final sentence is LactMed's own and is carried with the findings. The sIgA result is qualified further in LactMed's detailed section: among 14 women who used cannabis postpartum by inhalation, 'The milk of cannabis users had lower levels of sIgA relative to non-users; however, when adjusted for BMI, there was no difference in sIgA levels between the groups.' On supply, LactMed states: 'Cannabis can affect serum prolactin variably and it might decrease milk supply and the duration of lactation.' In the same 14-woman study, 'Cannabis-using mothers reported lower levels of milk production in the first, second, fourth, and sixth weeks postpartum, compared to non-users.' A Colorado cross-sectional survey found both prenatal and postnatal cannabis use associated with shorter breastfeeding duration, with 58% of women reporting postpartum cannabis use breastfeeding for 9 or more weeks compared with 79% of women who did not, a statistically significant difference. The countervailing evidence is carried too: in an online survey of 1516 mothers who used cannabis during lactation, 'Most mothers (85.8%) reported no changes in their milk supply when using cannabis compared to when they were not using it', and a separate biorepository comparison of 165 exposed and 472 unexposed samples found higher protein and carbohydrate levels in the exposed milk with fat and energy content not significantly different between the groups. LactMed also notes a confounder for the shorter-duration findings: in a 4969-woman database study, marijuana users were more likely to smoke cigarettes, and 'Tobacco smoking is known to decrease the duration of breastfeeding, so the effect of marijuana is not clear.'Cannabis, Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed), NCBI Bookshelf NBK501587, record updated 2026 Aug 15

Dose and duration limits

Human oral dose, from the only clinical study of a named Bhanga preparation. No animal dose is reported or substituted anywhere in this field. The trial administered Jalaprakshalana (water-wash) Shodhita Bhanga as a leaf powder in size 0 capsules, 250 mg three times a day at 9 am, 3 pm and 9 pm, orally, with 50 ml of cow's milk mixed with 4 g of crystal sugar as an adjuvant, for 4 weeks, in adults aged 18 to 70 with cancer. That is 750 mg of powder per day. The trial states its basis for the unit dose: 'Recommended dose of water-wash processed cannabis leaves as per Ayurvedic pharmacopoeia of India is 250 mg'. That sentence is the trial's citation of the Ayurvedic Pharmacopoeia of India; the pharmacopoeial text itself could not be read on a permitted host on 2026-09-11, because pharmacopoeia.gov.in and www.pharmacopoeia.gov.in did not resolve (DNS NXDOMAIN, curl exit code 6), so the API figure is reported here only as quoted by the trial and not as verified against the monograph. What this dose is and is not: it is the amount given in one open-label, single-arm, uncontrolled 4-week study in which 37 patients enrolled and 24 completed. It is not a maximum, not a ceiling, not a tested-safe dose and not a dose for any group the trial excluded (pregnant or breastfeeding women, people with uncontrolled hypertension or diabetes, cardiac, pulmonary, hepatic or renal dysfunction, HIV/VDRL, and anyone outside 18-70). No cited source states a maximum daily quantity, a maximum duration, or a cumulative limit for Bhanga, and none states a dose for cannabis generally: the MSKCC About Herbs cannabis page has a 'Dosage' heading whose content is marked 'OneMSK Only' and carries no public text, and the NCCIH, FDA and LactMed pages state no dose. The dose above is specific to the water-wash Shodhita form; no source located gives a dose for Bhanga processed by the other Shodhana methods described in the Sodhana review, or for unprocessed Bhanga. Regulatory status: this record states INSUFFICIENT DATA on the Indian regulatory position of Bhanga. Two Ministry of Ayush documents were requested directly on 2026-09-11 and returned no content (https://ayush.gov.in/resources/pdf/quality_standards/Drugs-and-Cosmetics-Act-Rules.pdf returned HTTP 404; https://www.ayush.gov.in/docs/guideline_safety_toxicity.pdf returned HTTP 403), so the gazetted Schedule E(1) text could not be read on a permitted host, and no claim about Schedule E(1), Rule 161(2) or prescription-only status is made here. This is a statement about what could and could not be retrieved in this session, not a finding that no such rule exists. The trial notes for context that its drug was procured 'after taking due approval of the state excise authority' and that the study was registered as CTRI/2016/02/006658. Because no ceiling is established, the psychiatric, cardiac, renal, hepatic, respiratory, paediatric-ingestion and dependence hazards recorded above apply to internal use at any quantity.Tavhare SD, Acharya R, Reddy RG, Dhiman KS. Management of chronic pain with Jalaprakshalana (water-wash) Shodhita (processed) Bhanga (Cannabis sativa L.) in cancer patients with deprived quality of life: An open-label single arm clinical trial. Ayu. 2019 Jan-Mar;40(1):34-43. PMCID PMC6891996, PMID 31831967, doi:10.4103/ayu.AYU_43_19Maurya SK, Seth A, Laloo D, et al. Sodhana: An Ayurvedic process for detoxification and modification of therapeutic activities of poisonous medicinal plants. Anc Sci Life. 2015 Apr-Jun;34(4):188-197. PMCID PMC4535066, doi:10.4103/0257-7941.160862Cannabis, Memorial Sloan Kettering About Herbs

Quoted in the units the source uses. Nothing here is converted.

Every statement above was checked by four independent reviewers, each looking for a different kind of error, and published only if the source could be confirmed to say it. How safety data is verified.

Published research

Literature indexed in PubMed that concerns this subject, grouped by study type. A paper appearing here is a record of what has been published, not evidence that the subject works, and laboratory or animal results do not transfer to people. Study titles link to PubMed so you can read the source rather than take our word.

Other clinical studies and reviews11

  1. Lavender I, Garden G, Grunstein RR and others. 2024. Using Cannabis and CBD to Sleep: An Updated ReviewCurrent psychiatry reports. PMID 39612156 · doi:10.1007/s11920-024-01564-7
  2. Castillo-Arellano J, Canseco-Alba A, Cutler SJ and others. 2023. The Polypharmacological Effects of CannabidiolMolecules (Basel, Switzerland). PMID 37050032 · doi:10.3390/molecules28073271
  3. Martinez Naya N, Kelly J, Corna G and others. 2023. Molecular and Cellular Mechanisms of Action of CannabidiolMolecules (Basel, Switzerland). PMID 37630232 · doi:10.3390/molecules28165980
  4. Pagano C, Navarra G, Coppola L and others. 2022. Cannabinoids: Therapeutic Use in Clinical PracticeInternational journal of molecular sciences. PMID 35328765 · doi:10.3390/ijms23063344
  5. Rock EM, Parker LA. 2021. Constituents of Cannabis SativaAdvances in experimental medicine and biology. PMID 33332000 · doi:10.1007/978-3-030-57369-0_1
  6. Lowe H, Toyang N, Steele B and others. 2021. The Endocannabinoid System: A Potential Target for the Treatment of Various DiseasesInternational journal of molecular sciences. PMID 34502379 · doi:10.3390/ijms22179472
  7. Dhein S. 2020. Different Effects of Cannabis Abuse on Adolescent and Adult BrainPharmacology. PMID 32629444 · doi:10.1159/000509377
  8. Schep LJ, Slaughter RJ, Glue P and others. 2020. The clinical toxicology of cannabisThe New Zealand medical journal. PMID 33032307
  9. Foster BC, Abramovici H, Harris CS. 2019. Cannabis and Cannabinoids: Kinetics and InteractionsThe American journal of medicine. PMID 31152723 · doi:10.1016/j.amjmed.2019.05.017
  10. Bonini SA, Premoli M, Tambaro S and others. 2018. Cannabis sativa: A comprehensive ethnopharmacological review of a medicinal plant with a long historyJournal of ethnopharmacology. PMID 30205181 · doi:10.1016/j.jep.2018.09.004
  11. Blessing EM, Steenkamp MM, Manzanares J and others. 2015. Cannabidiol as a Potential Treatment for Anxiety DisordersNeurotherapeutics : the journal of the American Society for Experimental NeuroTherapeutics. PMID 26341731 · doi:10.1007/s13311-015-0387-1

Consult a qualified vaidya before acting on anything here. Ayurvedic practice is prescribed to a person, not to a condition: the same dravya is given, withheld or substituted depending on your constitution, your agni, the season and what else you are already taking. A page cannot know any of that. Self-prescribing from a reference is how the wrong preparation, the wrong dose or the wrong anupana gets used.

Educational reference only. Nothing on this page is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to take anything. Traditional uses and research findings are reported as published, not as claims about what any product does. If you take prescribed medication, raise any interaction with the prescriber rather than acting on a page. See our editorial standards.